Mortality Bites…..

At some point in life, we will always question our own mortality, whether it be when we’re 5 and simply trying to figure out what life and death are all about or whether we be 55 and still trying to figure out the same thing. Mortality bites.

There’s never a good time to be faced with death, is there? A young life will never get the chance to experience the things we take for granted, an older life may have had a ‘good innings’ but will be sadly missed.

As I sit here writing this, I have a brand new life writhing around inside me, so many people are excited to meet him, and as his Mother, I am already thinking about the grand scale of life and what it can hold for him. A couple of miles down the road, my close friend awaits having the second round of mole removal and deep tissue removal and must wait even longer to find out whether she is free from Skin Cancer.

I can’t begin to imagine how it feels, i mean really feels, to have death stare you in the face. To play life lottery, “we might have caught it early enough, but we might not”, to keep you hanging in the balance while somewhere fate awaits.

I took some time out yesterday to read through some quotes. Quotes comfort me, i like to think outside of the box, and these quotes that i found yesterday seemed fitting.

“If you lose hope, somehow you lose the vitality that keeps life moving, you lose that courage to be, that quality that helps you go on in spite of it all. And so today I still have a dream.” – Martin Luther King, jr.

“Promise me you’ll always remember: You’re braver than you believe, and stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.” Christopher Robin to Pooh – A. A. Milne

There are no answers, not definitive ones, we can only hope, enjoy today and try and remember the good things in life. We’re only human, of course we all moan and feel sad about things that really, in the grand scheme of things, aren’t worth worrying about for a long period of time.

Carpe Diem!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Mortality Bites…..

  1. Oooh this has really got me thinking! Mortality is my fear. Not the fear of dying, just the fear of leaving my three behind. I would feel cheated somehow. I would have to come back and haunt them all! But this fear has prevented me from writing a will, because I can’t decide who I feel is good enough to look after them. That is terrible isn’t it? I really really must. Thank you for getting me thinking!

  2. I agree about Hope. I feel Hope is something that keeps us going and feeling optomisitc, and without it life can be very bleak.
    Wishing that your friend gets the all clear
    x

Leave a Reply

